online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
Canada Council Molson Prize

Established in 1964. "The Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes, in the amount of $50,000 each, are awarded annually to two distinguished individuals (one in the arts, one in the social sciences and humanities). The prizes are intended to encourage continuing contribution to the cultural and intellectual heritage of Canada." >>>Molson Prize website

"N.B. Before 2002, the Prizes were designated by the year of the Councilís financial statements. Starting in 2002, they will be designated by the year in which they are awarded."

2003: Walter Boudreau, Janice Gross Stein
2002: Christopher Newton, Margaret Lock
2001: N.B.
2000: Jacques Poulin, Ian Hacking
1999: Kiawak Ashoona, Tom Courchene
1998: Jeanne Lamon, Michael J. Trebilcock
1997: Mary Pratt, Guy Rocher
1996: Mavis Gallant, Pierre Maranda
1995: Gerald Ferguson, Donald Akenson
1994: Michel Tremblay, Martin Friedland
1993: R. Murray Schafer, Juliet McMaster
1992: Douglas Cardinal, Fernand Dumont
1991: Denys Arcand, Charles Taylor
1990: Alice Munro, Jean-Jacques Nattiez
1989: Vera Frenkel, Fernande Saint-Martin
1988: Robertson Davies, Terence Michael Penelhum
1987: Yvette Brind'Amour, Marc-Adélard Tremblay
1986: J. Mavor Moore, William Dray
1985: Gaston Miron, Ronald Melzack
1984: Marcel Dubé, James G. Eayrs
1983: Brian Macdonald, Francess Halpenny
1982: Alan C. Cairns, Louis-Edmond Hamelin, Jack McClelland, Gilles Vigneault
1981: Margaret Atwood, Marcel Trudel, John Weinzweig
1980: Michel Brault, Lois Marshall, Robert Weaver
1979: Jean Duceppe, Betty Oliphant, Michael Snow
1978: Gabrielle Roy, Jack Shadboldt, George Story
1977: John Hirsch, Bill Reid, Jean-Louis Roux
1976: Orford String Quartet, Denise Pelletier, Jon Vickers
1975: Alex Colville, Pierre Dansereau, Margaret Laurence
1974: W.A.C.H Dobson, Celia Franca, Jean-Paul Lemieux
1973: John James Deutsch, Alfred Pellan, George Woodcock
1972: Maureen Forrester, Rina Lasnier, Norman McLaren
1971: Northrop Frye, Duncan MacPherson, Yves Thériault
1970: Jean-Paul Audet, Morley Callaghan, Arnold Spohr
1969: Glenn Gould, Jean Le Moyne
1968: Arthur Erickson, Anne Hébert, Marshall McLuhan
1967: Georges-Henri Lévesque, Hugh MacLennan
1965-66: Jean Gascon, Frank Scott
1964: Donald Creighton, Alain Grandbois

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us