online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
Ruth Schwartz Children's Book Award

The Canadian Booksellers' Association annually presents a prize of $2000 to the writer or creative source of an outstanding children's work written by a Canadian and published in Canada. Awards are presented to an author (and illustrator, if there is one) in two categories: children and young adult. Managed by the Ontario Arts Council, students in grades 4 and 5 chose the children's award winner and students in grades 7 and 8 choose the young adult winner. The students are chosen from a different Ontario School each year.

1999: [Picture Book] Celia Barker Lottridge, Illus. by Harvey Chan, Music for the Tsar of the Sea
1999: [Young Adult] Eric Walters, War Of The Eagles
1998: [Picture Book] ,
1998: [Young Adult] ,
1997: [Picture Book] Paul Yee, Illus. by Harvey Chan, Music for the Tsar of the Sea
1997: [Young Adult] Kit Pearson, Awake and Dreaming
1996: [Picture Book] Geoff Butler, The Killick: A Newfoundland Story
1996: [Young Adult] Welwyn Wilton Katz, Out of the Dark
1995: [Picture Book] Barbara Greenwood and Heather Collins, A Pioneer Story: The Daily Life of a Canadian Family in 1840
1995: [Young Adult] Julie Johnston, Adam and Eve and Pinch-Me
1994: [Picture Book] Michael Kusugak and Vladyanna Krykorka, Northern Lights: The Soccer Trails
1994: [Young Adult] O.R. Melling, The Hunter's Moon
1993: Phoebe Gilman, Something from Nothing
1992: Paul Yee, Illus. by Harvey Chan, Roses Sing on New Snow
1991: Ben Williams, Forbidden City
1990: Diana Wieler, Bad Boy
1989: Kim LaFave & Janet Lunn, Amos's Sweater
1988: Cora Taylor, The Doll
1987: Barbara Reid, Have You Seen Birds?
1986: Robert Munsch, Thomas' Snowsuit
1985: Jean Little, Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird
1984: Tim Wynne-Jones, Zoom at Sea
1983: Jan Truss, Jasmin
1982: Marsha Hewitt and Claire Mackay, One Proud Summer
1981: Suzanne Martel, The King's Daughter
1980: Barbara Smucker, Days of Terror
1979: Kevin Major, Hold Fast
1978: Dennis Lee, Garbage Delight
1977: Robert Thomas Allen, The Violin
1976: Mordecai Richler, Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us