online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
Stephen Leacock Award for Humour

Awarded to a Canadian writer for literary humour (fiction or non-fiction). Named for the celebrated humourist of the early 1900's. The award is announced in April and presented in June.


2003: Dan Needles, With Axe and Flask, the History of Persephone Township from Pre-Cambrian Times to the Present
2002: Will Ferguson, Generica (HappinessTM)
2001: Stuart McLean, Vinyl Cafe Unplugged
2000: Arthur Black, Black Tie and Tales
1999: Stuart McLean, Home from the Vinyl Cafe
1998: Mordecai Richler, Barney's Version
1997: Arthur Black, Black in the Saddle Again
1996: Marsha Boulton, Letters from the Country
1995: Josh Freed, Fear of Frying and other Fax of Life
1994: Bill Richardson, Bachelor Brother's Bed and Breakfast
1993: Joseph Levesque, Waiting for Aquarius
1992: Roch Carrier, Prayers of a Very Wise Child
1991: Howard White, Waiting in the Rain
1990: W.O. Mitchell, According to Jake and the Kid
1989: John Kertes, Winter Tulips
1988: Paul Quarrington, King Leary
1987: W.P. Kinsella, The Fencepost Chronicles
1986: Joey Slinger, No Axe too Small to Grind
1985: Ted Allan, Love is a Long Shot
1980: Donald Jack, Me Bandy, You Cissie
1979: Sondra Gotlieb, True Confessions
1978: Ernest Buckler, Whirligig
1977: Ray Guy, That Far Greater
1976: Harry J. Boyle, The Luck of the Irish
1975: Morley Torgov, A Good Place to Come From
1974: Donald Jack, That's Me in the Middle
1973: Donald Bell, Saturday Night at the Bagel Factory
1972: Max Braithwaite, The Night They Stole the Mounties' Car
1971: Robert Thomas, Allen Wives, Children & Other
1970: Farley Mowat, The Boat Who Wouldn't Float
1969: Stuart Trueman, You're Only as Old as You Act
1968: Max Ferguson, And Now...Here's Max
1967: Richard J. Needham, Needham's Inferno
1966: George Bain, Nursery Rhymes to be Read Aloud by Young Parents with Old Children
1965: Gregory Clark, War Stories
1964: Harry J. Boyle, Homebrew and Patches
1963: Donald Jack, Three Cheers for Me
1962: W. O. Mitchell, Jake and the Kid
1961: Norman Ward, Mice in the Beer
1960: Pierre Berton, Just Add Water and Stir
1959: No Award Made
1958: Eric Nicol, Girdle Me A Globe
1957: Robert Thomas Allen, The Grass Is Never Greener
1956: Eric Nicol, Shall We Join The Ladies?
1955: Robertson Davies, Leaven of Malice
1954: Joan Walker, Pardon My Parka
1953: Lawrence Earl, The Battle Of Baltinglass
1952: Jan Hilliard, The Salt Box
1951: Eric Nicol, The Roving I
1950: Earle Binney, Turvey
1949: Angeline Hango, Truthfully Yours
1948: Paul Hiebert, Sarah Binks
1947: Harry L. Symons, Ojibway Melody

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us