online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
IODE Book Award, Toronto Chapter

The Imperial Order of the Daughters of the Empire, Toronto Chapter, annually presents an award of $1000 for the best book written or illustrated by a Canadian and intended for children between the ages of 6 and 12 years.

1997: David Booth. Dust Bowl
1995: Linda Granfield & Janet Wilson, In Flanders Fields: The Story of the Poem by John McCrae
1994: Joanne Findon and Ted Nasmith, The Dream of Aengus
1993: Celia Barker Lottridge, Ten Small Tales
1992: Janet Lunn, Christopher Moore, and Allan Daniel, The Story Of Canada
1991: Michael Bedard and Regolo Ricci, The Nightgale
1990: David Booth (editor), Voices Of The Wind
1989: Brenda Clark, Little Fingerling (Text: Monica Hughes)
1988: Eric Beddows, Night Cars (Text: Teddy Jam)
1987: Caroline Parry, Let's Celebrate! Canada's Special Days
1986: Barbara Reid. Have You Seen Birds? by Joanne Oppenheim
1985: Robin Muller. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
1984: Ian Wallace. Chin Chiang and the Dragon's Dance
1983: Tim Wynne-Jones. Zoom at Sea
1982: Kathy Stinson. Red Is Best
1981: Bernice Thurman Hunter. That Scatterbrain Booky
1980: Olena Kassian for illustration of two texts:

1979: Janet Lunn. The Twelve Dancing Princesses
1978: Laszlo Gal for illustration of three texts:
1977: William Toye. The Loon's Necklace
1976: Aviva Layton. How the Kookaburra Got His Laugh
1975: William Kurelek. A Prairie Boy's Winter
1974: Dennis Lee. Alligator Pie

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us