online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award

The Canadian Library Association presents a bronze medal to the author of the best Canadian children's book. The awards procedure changed in 1966, resulting in the presentation of two awards that year.

1997: Brian Doyle. Uncle Ronald
1996: Maxine Trottier. The Tiny Kite of Eddie Wing
1995: Cora Taylor. Summer of the Mad Monk
1994: Tim Wynne-Jones. Some of the Kinder Planets
1993: Celia Barker Lottridge. Ticket to Curlew
1992: Kevin Major. Eating Between the Lines
1991: Michael Bedard. Redwork
1990: Kit Pearson. The Sky is Falling
1989: Brian Doyle. Easy Avenue
1988: Kit Pearson. A Handful of Time
1987: Janet Lunn. Shadow in Hawthorn Bay
1986: Cora Taylor. Julie
1985: Jean Little. Mama's Going to Buy You a Mockingbird
1984: Jan Hudson. Sweetgrass
1983: Brian Doyle. Up to Low
1982: Janet Lunn. The Root Cellar
1981: Donn Kushner. The Violin-Maker's Gift
1980: James Houston. River Runners
1979: Kevin Major. Hold Fast
1978: Dennis Lee. Garbage Delight
1977: Christie Harris. Mouse Woman and the Vanished Princesses
1976: Mordecai Richler. Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang
1975: Dennis Lee. Alligator Pie
1974: Elizabeth Cleaver. The Miraculous Hind
1973: Ruth Nichols. The Marrow of the World
1972: Ann Blades. Mary of Mile 18
1971: William Toye. Cartier Discovers the St. Lawrence
1970: Edith Fowke. Sally Go Round the Sun
1969: Kay Hill. And Tomorrow the Stars: The Story of John Cabot
1968: James Houston. The White Archer: An Eskimo Legend
1967: Christie Harris. Raven' s Cry
1966: James Houston. Tikta'liktak: An Eskimo Legend
1966: James McNeill. The Double Knights: More Tales from Round the World
1965: Dorothy M. Reid. Tales of Nanabozho
1964: Roderick Haig-Brown. The Whale People
1963: Sheila Burnford. The Incredible Journey
1962: No Award
1961: William Toye. The St. Lawrence
1960: Marius Barbeau and Michael Hornyansky. The Golden Phoenix and Other Fairy Tales from Quebec
1959: John E Hayes. The Dangerous Cove
1958: Farley Mowat. Lost in the Barrens
1957: Cyrus Macmillan. Glooscap's Country and Other Indian Tales
1956: Louise Riley. Train for Tiger Lily
1955: No Award
1954: No Award
1953: No Award
1952: Catherine Anthony Clark. The Sun Horse
1951: No Award
1950: Richard S. Lambert. Franklin of the Arctic
1949: No Award
1948: Mabel Dunham. Kristli's Trees
1947: Roderick Haig-Brown. Starbuck Valley Winter

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us