online guide to writing in canada
home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us
Amazon/Books in Canada First Novel Award

Originally given by Books in Canada (BIC), the national review magazine. Became the SmithBooks/BIC award. Then it was the Chapters/BIC award. Now it is the Amazon/BIC Award Presented for books published in the previous year. Announced in April.

website: amazon listings (are these correct or were my initial listings off by a year?)

2003: Mary Lawson, Crow Lake
2002: Michael Redhill, Martin Sloane
2001: Eva Stachniak, Necessary lies
2000: (tie) David MacFarlane, Summer gone
2000: (tie) Alan R. Wilson, Before the flood
1999: Andre Alexis, Childhood
1998: Margaret Gibson, Opium Dreams
1997: Anne Michaels, Fugitive Pieces
1996: Keath Fraser, Popular Anatomy
1995: Shyam Selvadurai, Funny Boy: A Novel in Six Stories
1994: Deborah J. Corey, Losing Eddie: A Novel
1993: John Steffler, The Afterlife of George Cartwright: A Novel
1992: Rohinton Mistry, Such a Long Journey
1991: Nino Ricci, Lives of the Saints
1990: Sandra Birdsell, The Missing Child
1989: Rick Salutin, A Man of Little Faith
1988: Marion Quednau, The Butterfly Chair
1987: Karen Lawrence, The Life of Helen Alone
1986: Wayne Johnson, The Story of Bobby O'Mally
1985: G. Ursell, Perdue, or How the West Was Lost
1984: Heather Robertson, Willie
1983: W.P. Kinsella, Shoeless Joe
1982: Joy Kogawa, Obasan
1981: W.D. Valgardson, Gentle Sinners
1980: Clark Blaise, Lunar Attractions
1979: ,
1978: ,
1977: Michael Ondaatje, Coming Through Slaughter

home | authors | publications | publishers | resources | forum | about us